Away Team
Payday loans uk

Tag: Mustaine

SLAYER, KISS, MEGADETH ala Flamenco? FLAMETAL says ‘Heavy Mellow’

by on Jun.24, 2010, under news

Benjamin Woods and his monster creation FLAMETAL will release their latest masterpiece “HEAVY MELLOW” July 6th on Flametal Records. This album embraces the metal-works of SLAYER, MEGADETH, KISS and the SCORPIONS to name a few. “This is a Flamenco Guitar tribute album to some of the great Metal masterpieces,” says Woods. “It is definitely a different album from the other FLAMETAL releases and is more of a solo effort that is a very powerful to play live. Although the songs are very dark, everyone gets it, even your Mom.

Woods is a new breed of virtuoso and a speed metal guitarist from the start. By a twist of fate Woods gear was stolen by a junkie, leaving him with only a Spanish Guitar to practice on. This was the defining moment that ignited a passion for Flamenco Guitar. After spending years studying and performing authentic Flamenco, Woods created the genre-bending group FLAMETAL, earning him an international reputation as the master of Flamenco and Metal. Playing Metal without a pick, or distortion would seem impossible to most, but through his training and creativity, Woods is the first and only musician to successfully combine real Flamenco and Metal. Here he pays tribute to some of his favorite metal tunes, played in the Flamenco idiom, with traditional accompaniment. “I had to use all my Flamenco knowledge to play these metal favorites without losing the integrity so I picked great songs with great melodies. On some songs I sped up the tempo, dropped a verse or created a new solo version only slightly changing the arrangements,” explains Woods. “The King Diamond song was a great challenge to put into the 12/8 time Flamenco rhythm of Bulerias, and the solo was definitely fun, but a bitch to learn on the Spanish guitar. The Megadeth tune was difficult to create melodies from Mustaine‘s vocal grunts and growls, but cool how it fit into the slithery rhythm of Tanguillos. I was very fortunate to have Steve Stevens do some nylon and electric guitar solos on my original tune “Cursed“. It’s a raw preview of what the next original FLAMETAL album will be with many great guest artists featured.”
Woods has built a substantial following through his years of touring and recording as “HEAVY MELLOW” unveils him to be a master musician with deep musical roots in metal, classical and Flamenco guitar. Woods is also one of the only American Flamenco guitarists to ever grace the pages of Spain’s national newspaper El Pais, and Spain’s number one Flamenco publication ALMA 100.
Woods raw energy combined with exotic and sophisticated acoustic playing and the talent of a new-generation shred-master is a much needed breath of fresh air to the instrumental rock genre.
FLAMETAL‘S new album “HEAVY MELLOW” is available for download on itunes, Amazon, and CD Baby.

For more information visit or

Comments Off :, , , , , , , , , , , more...


by on Jun.23, 2010, under news

The final night of MEGADETH‘s historic month-long “Rust In Peace” 20th anniversary tour has been captured for the upcoming “Rust In Peace Live” Blu-ray, DVD and CD, due out September 7 on Shout! Factory.
On March 31, 2010, at this incredibly special show at the legendary Hollywood Palladium, not far from where Dave Mustaine formed the band in 1983, MEGADETH played their landmark, genre-defining 1990 “Rust In Peace” album in its entirety, in addition to other MEGADETH favorites. “Rust In Peace Live” also marks the return of original bassist David Ellefson (MEGADETH 1983-2002) to the iconic multi-platinum group after eight years. Ellefson (bass), joins Mustaine (lead vocals, guitar), Shawn Drover (drums) and Chris Broderick (guitar).
Rust In Peace Live” features the entire “Rust In Peace” track listing, including all-time classics “Holy Wars…The Punishment Due” and “Hangar 18” along with bonus fan favorites from various other MEGADETH releases such as “Symphony For Destruction“, “Peace Sells” and “Skin O’ My Teeth“.
MEGADETH founder/frontman/guitarist Dave Mustaine explains, “We are pumped to be able to share the ‘RIP Live’ concert with you all around the world. The anniversary and David Ellefson coming back was better than a facelift and a bottle of Viagra for old [MEGADETH mascot] Vic.”
The 80-minute “Rust In Peace Live” DVD (5.1 Dolby Surround 16:9 Widescreen) and Blu-ray (5.1 DTS Master Audio 1080p High Definition) were directed by Kerry Asmussen (GREEN DAY, JAY-Z, Coachella). The DVD and Blu-ray will also include behind-the-scenes footage, including a rare glimpse of the band rehearsing in their dressing room as they prepare to take the stage.

“Rust In Peace” Live:
01. Holy Wars…The Punishment Due
02. Hangar 18
03. Take No Prisoners
04. Five Magics
05. Poison Was The Cure
06. Lucretia
07. Tornado Of Souls
08. Dawn Patrol
09. Rust In Peace…Polaris

Bonus Content:
10. Skin O’ My Teeth (Countdown To Extinction)
11. In My Darkest Hour (So Far, So Good…So What!)
12. She-Wolf (Cryptic Writings)
13. Trust (Cryptic Writings)
14. Symphony Of Destruction (Countdown To Extinction)
15. Peace Sells (Peace Sells…But Who’s Buying?)
16. Holy Wars – Reprise (Rust In Peace)

For more information on all things Megadeth you can visit them here.


Comments Off :, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , more...

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...